ashtanga yoga

Yoga is a physical, mental, and spiritual practice or discipline which originated in India. In Vedic Sanskrit, yoga (from the the root yuj) means “to add”, “to join”, “to unite”, or “to attach” in its most common literal sense.

Ashtanaga Yoga has eight limbs, those are :

Yama: moral way of living

Niyama: disciplining

Asana: movement of the body

Pranayama: breath observation

Pratyahara: mental preparation

Dharna: concentration

Dhyana: meditation

Samadhi: mukti


Each limb of yoga is preparation for the next, So one should master one limb then move to another.